Mango Ginger Carrot Cake

12 May

I baked my mom a Mango Carrot Ginger Cake for Mother’s Day and I must say, I’m pretty happy with the way this one turned out despite a slight mishap with the candied carrots.  I meant to make curled carrot ribbons but I accidentally left them in the over for too long when I was icing.  The thinner strands just snapped when I tried curling them but luckily the thicker strands had enough moisture to bend, so I just figured that I’d make a giant rose for the centrepiece and crumble the rest around it.

The cake itself is incredibly moist, smells amazing, and tastes really good but I think I’ll go back to using whipped cream the next time I make this.  The ginger cream cheese frosting is a bit too sweet for my liking despite using a cup of icing sugar less than recommended.

My mom was thrilled when she saw it even though aesthetically, I think I did a better job with the Black Forest Cake for her birthday earlier this year:

My brother also made a  spinach-steak pizza from scratch for dinner but we were all so excited to taste it that we completely forgot to take photos.  The crust is surprisingly easy to make; he only used plain yoghurt and self-rising flour, nothing else.  Guess we can stop buying frozen pizzas now, lol.

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

Recipes: nlrockrecipestastespotting

2 Responses to “Mango Ginger Carrot Cake”

  1. AgileWriter 05/12/2014 at 9:27 am #

    Seems great. I’ll surely try..
    Happy Mother’s day.
    Do try peach cake..
    http://bit.ly/1mO0ffO

    Like

Leave a Reply

