Quote of the Day: Markus Zusak

13 Mar

0302031537

source: flickr

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

I really hate funerals.

The fact that the relatives who live here are all from my grandmother’s generation makes it even more difficult.

The thing is, having family scattered around the world is great if you want to go globe trotting and need a couch to crash on, but it also means you don’t get to see each other as often as you’d like, let alone get to know one another.    For the past few years, it almost feels like we wouldn’t even see each another at all if it weren’t for funerals.

On the one hand, it’s delightful to catch up with everyone again but at the same time, it feels wrong somehow to smile or laugh given the circumstances.

My little cousin said something to me the other day that just broke my heart.  I didn’t know how to explain it to her so I didn’t end up saying anything at all.  It always surprises me how quickly people are to disregard children.  They’re a lot more perceptive than we give them credit for.  They may not know how to express what they feel but it doesn’t mean those feelings don’t exist…

 

Leave a Reply

