O r d i n a r y

6 Sep

Nothing beats starting a week with a good song.  I’ve had this one stuck in my head for a while, especially the opening lines of both verses.   It’s just… ❤

ORDINARY

Performed by Tim Be Told
Words and Music by Tim Ouyang
From the album “Getting By”
Copyright 2007 Tim Be Told


[Verse 1]

Why am I such in a rush to be somebody?
leaving behind all the things I’d rather be
I don’t know how success ever mattered to me
daddy always told me only doctors and some lawyers succeed
in what we call the present day
my mama always said that I would never stand a chance in this world
singing’ my life away
I may never be a times square poster
and I’ll never be on a popular magazine
I may never be an actor on the big screen
and I don’t remember if I ever cared at all


[Chorus]

I’m just an ordinary guy
just getting by
riding the tide trying to hide
I’m just an ordinary face
finding my place
you won’t remember my name
after I go away


[Verse 2]

Everyone tells me I’m a rare condition
and maybe that God has a different plan for me
I don’t presume to know
the reason’s a mystery
people always telling me that I am something special
well it’s too much pressure to take
the preacher always told me that Jesus might be watching me
throwing my life away
I may never be a perfect person
but I’ll do my best to try to make you happy
and I will never meet your expectations
but I never cared at all

[Chorus]
I’m just an ordinary guy
just getting by
riding the tide trying to hide
I’m just an ordinary face
finding my place
you won’t remember my name
after I go away


[Bridge]

Count to thirty look around you can’t find me
funny how I blend so well with
the mob scene
Twenty years and I’m still empty handed
and I’m still here fading away

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

Just so you know….

So very true… and in any case, normalcy is overrated =P

2 Responses to “O r d i n a r y”

  1. laurenlaurell 02/09/2011 at 12:26 pm #

    Hello..I’m glad you could share this hidden talent..I like that this is under your media category, because this highlights the barrels people have to overcome just to make it into mainstream media.. I’ve read your about me and you from Montreal, Canada and I can honestly say same scenario here in america..I’m in jersey area..but it’s all relative. I appreciate this inspirational post..Makes me want to continue to fight for bettering life..just a simple poem or story can make the world go round a smile on someone’s face..no one said you had to be a doctor to be considered “at your best” ..you determine that! I determine that! No one else.. Keep up your fight for what you believe and alike yourself I’m in my early twenties just looking for peace..love..prosperity=)

    Like

    • ComatoseBunny 02/23/2011 at 10:08 am #

      Aww… you’re sweet. It just goes to show you we’re all fighting the same battle. *hugs*

      Like

Leave a Reply

