2NE1 is Back With a Vengeance

13 Sep
If you’re a fan of South Korea’s K-pop group 2NE1, then you’ve most likely have already gotten your hands on the album and have already seen the MV’s (yes, there are more than one.  YG Entertainment decided to mass release them this weekend).

2NE1 – Clap Your Hands

^ LOL.  I’m pretty certain that’s T.O.P. bellowing out “OH…!! OH..!! AY YO!!” in the background.  This is such a Big Bang song;  I’d love to see both group do a stage performance of this together.

2NE1 – Can’t Nobody

^ Oh goodness… CL’s raccoon hair xD.  The song itself is all over the place, but it works in this MV.  And oh(!!), the clothes… <3  Is it just her make-up or does Park Bom look so lost in here?

2NE1 – Go Away

^ At first listen, this song’s my favorite one from the entire album even though the chorus does sound a bit repetitive after a while.

I refrained myself from reviewing their new material since I really want to give them a fair review.   Every time they release a new song, I find myself using their audition clips as reference so I’m always disappointed at them before anything else.  I mean these girls can actually sing; there’s no need to vocalize and to filter out their voices so much.  Doing so is a complete waste and insult to their talents.

That said, their new album is worth buying.  Lots of energetic dance-worthy tracks to boot.  I just wish they had a few songs where they can actually showcase their voices:

Park Bom’s Audition

^ I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE her voice.

Minji as a YG Trainee

^ Fergie’s got nothing on this girl; the totally owned it.  I think she was 14 years old at the time?

CL as a YG Trainee

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

Bonus:  Just because this song never gets old…

Big Bang (T.O.P. & G-Dragon) feat. Park Bom – Forever With You

This is actually the first Big Bang song I’ve heard that introduced the to the group.  At the time, Park Bom wasn’t credited for her vocals so I had no idea who’s voice that was for the longest time.  The fact that the clip was a ringtone of the chorus that someone cut out, and it was mislabeled as “We Belong Together” didn’t really help either.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

