Why is TVB so friggin’ addictive??

27 Mar

I realize that I’ve been seriously neglecting this blog lately, but that’s only because 鐵馬尋橋 (A Fistful of Stances) is so addictive. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: TVB is evil. With so many good series out, how is anyone suppose to get any work done? I started watching 秋香怒點唐伯虎 (In the Eye of the Beholder) as well, but didn’t go beyond the first episode. I can’t quite pinpoint it, but there’s just something about Myolie Wu as an actress that I don’t like. It apparently gets better though with the introduction of Fala Chan’s character, so I’m just gonna collect all the eps and watch them all in one shot.

Come to think of it, I still haven’t watched the last 2 eps of 아이리스 (IRIS) either… I accidentally deleted the subtitles to episode 19 and haven’t gotten around to finding it.

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

[MAJOR SPOILER ALERT]

I’m kinda depressed… think I accidentally ruined it for myself when I was browsing through Youtube for extended scenes >___<. Really not looking forward to watching T.O.P.’s character die… I can’t believe he killed the hacker girl, urgh!!  They were so cute together…

[/SPOILER]

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

But anyways, back to A Fistful of Stances… I think Tavia is quickly becoming one of my favorite TVB actress… I absolutely could not stand her prior to 宮心計 (Beyond The Realm Of Conscience) but now, she’s definitely a force to be reckoned with now.  Initially, I wasn’t going to watch this because of Kevin Cheung (great eye-candy, horrible actor) but he actually goes beyond his usual two facial expression (smiling and the same weird contorted expression that he uses to show any sort of negative emotion — eg. sad/angry/upset/etc… it’s all the same for him), but here… omgosh… he actually screams with rage/anguish, and cries with emotion that I’ve never seen in him before; it’s like he’s actually human and not a cyborg robot xD.

My mom and I are still debating over which character Raymond Lam was suppose to be.  He was in the trailer for the original sales presentation released at the beginning of 2009, but I think he decided to quit acting — at least for the time being — to focus on his family business.  I initially thought that he got replaced by Kevin but it wouldn’t make sense since it would be a anachronism given that he’s suppose to be Tavia’s character’s husband… but now that we find out he’s actually playing two characters of two different generations, I’m not so sure anymore…

My mom still believes that it’s Kenneth Ma who replaced Raymond — which I guess can be the case — but then who the heck is the guy who’s fighting with him against his mom??  It’s just confusing…

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

[POSSIBLE SPOILER ALERT]

Unless… that guy could be the father… maybe his dad didn’t die.  I think what happened was that Kenneth accidentally shot his best friend, and Dominic Lam’s character threatened to expose Kevin as a murderer if he insisted on arresting Dominic.  Kevin’s character probably couldn’t stand the guilt of it and couldn’t bring himself to go back home as though nothing happened so he chose to let Dominic’s character walk free and decided to hide away in guilt all these years…

[/SPOILER]

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

On the other hand, it could be that the entire script’s been changed since Raymond dropped out of it.  The whole tone of the series looks different, especially if you compare the trailer above with the new one:

The old one looks more like it’s a martial arts series that doesn’t take itself too seriously, while the new one takes on a more dramatic and serious tone.

Regardless, I really hope the series doesn’t take a turn for the worst like what happened with 太極 (The Master of Tai Chi).  Everything was absolutely spectacular with that one (cinematography, scenery, actors…) but the storyline was complete and utter crap.  It was nothing but a downward spiral of one disappointment after another and by the end of it, I was ready to strangle all the characters (Melissa for being so accommodating and selfless; Vincent for being so ignorant, clueless, and spineless when it comes to his love life; Myolie and Selena for being so incredibly selfish and self-centered; and most of all, Raymond for being so ridiculously infatuated/obsessed/”in love” with a character as manipulative as Myolie.)

It seems like A Fistful of Stances is mix of The Master of Tai Chi (for the whole “underdog becomes king of fighter” storyline) and Moonlight Resonance (for the whole “strength in  family unity”).  But then again, that’s just me. =P

2 Responses to “Why is TVB so friggin’ addictive??”

  1. Your Best Friend 09/13/2010 at 12:22 am #

    Oops! I haven’t finished this one yet. I watched the 1st episode, and then stopped to watch C.S.I. Miami. :-)

    • theComatoseBunny 09/13/2010 at 9:15 am #

      Oh you should!! This is one has one of the most thoroughly thought out plot that I’ve seen TVB do in a long time. Some of the characters are quite typical as plot devices to drive the story forward but it wasn’t overdone. For once, there wasn’t any character that I was really annoyed at, and the ending was quite surprising.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

